Patient Reviews

Reviews for Aldona J. Spiegel, M.D.

Reviews for Dr. Aldona Spiegel

We understand that sometimes it may be helpful to hear other patients’ stories of their experiences with Dr. Aldona J. Spiegel and her surgical team out of Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston, TX. To help you in your decision-making process, we have provided some patient testimonial submissions below. Our highly trained team will provide you with compassion and the attentiveness you deserve. Your health is our number one priority! Whether your journey is breast reconstruction, correction, or enhancement, we will be here to answer your questions and guide you throughout your clinical or surgical experience. We suggest you take the time to read through our testimonials and reviews in this section of our website, especially if you are searching for the right breast reconstruction surgeon others have entrusted with their care.

Filter32 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 01, 2019

I cannot recommend Dr Spiegel and her team more highly. I attended her clinic when having trouble with uncomfortable implants after a previous mastectomy. Dr Spiegel suggested DIEP procedure and I was really not sure. Over the coming months both she and her team explained the procedure, the benefits and results and implications. I decided to go ahead and I could not be more happy with the results. I look like I would have done pre mastectomy. I have been amazed by the continued care and concern of the whole team from the finance folk to the clinic nurses and doctors and their absolute pleasure in seeing my delight. A fantastic experience and I can't thank them enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 08, 2019

Dr. Spiegel and her wonderful staff got me through the most difficult experience of my life. Going through mastectomy and DIEP flap reconstruction is traumatic. I chose her over other Houston area surgeons and felt that I could trust her. Everyone in her office supported me each step of the way. First, and foremost, this is a major surgery and you rely on medical excellence to avoid important risks. She is a perfectionist regarding medical safety. Next, her artistry is outstanding. She got the best result that could be possible. Finally, if you have radiation, it is a long journey of several years to get from the beginning to end of the process, involving a year of a temporary expander before the final reconstruction. It is important to have a team that you can have that trusting supportive relationship over time. I feel very lucky and grateful that I was in the hands of this wonderful group of highly skilled women. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 08, 2019

Dr. Spiegel was highly recommended by my oncologist. It had become necessary that I look into reconstruction and a lymph node transplant. Dr. Spiegel does amazing work. She loves what she does and it shows in the results that she achieves. I am very happy that I chose her for this journey! Her support staff are wonderful to work with as well! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 08, 2019

Dr. Spiegel is my guardian angel and I owe her and her entire team and staff a debt of gratitude that I will ever be able to repay! I am one year out from my original Diep flap surgery with her and I feel great- like myself again! After undergoing a prophylactic mastectomy ( due to testing positive for the BRCA 2 gene and strong family cancer) and getting breast implants with another doctor, Dr. Spiegel saved my life by removing the implants and performing Deip surgery. The implants cased me so much pain and diminished my quality of life but now I have it back. I have no more pain and my breasts are soft again and created from my very own tissue. Thank you Dr. Spiegel! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2019

Dr. Spiegel is simply fantastic. I am so grateful to her and her whole staff (Alexis/Nicole/Lisa/Aidee/Angie) for the wonderful care and support given to me from my very first visit to their office. Dr. Spiegel is so thorough that during the course of my visits, she insisted that I consult a GI doctor for my distended stomach. Turns out that I had an H Pylori infection for which I had to be treated. No other doctors had ever looked past their specialties to treat the whole individual, and I am 59 years old. Subsequently, Dr. Spiegel pushed for an endoscopy, and it was discovered that I had an ulcer for which I was treated. From cardio work up, lab tests to chest xrays, Dr. Spiegel ensured that I was in top shape for surgery and made sure that I understood all aspects of the procedure and treatment.During my stay at the hospital, Dr. Spiegel, Alexis, Nicole, Dr. Arroyo, and Dr. Vo infused me with so much strength, support and kindness that I have no words to express my gratitude and appreciation. It's been one month since my surgery and I'm feeling good, healing very well and going back to work next week. Awesome doctor and wonderful staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 07, 2019

Dr. Spiegel is simply fantastic. I am so grateful to her and her whole staff (Alexis/Nicole/Lisa/Aidee/Angie) for the wonderful care and support given to me from my very first visit to their office. Dr. Spiegel is so thorough that during the course of my visits, she insisted that I consult a GI doctor for my distended stomach. Turns out that I had an H Pylori infection for which I had to be treated. No other doctors had ever looked past their specialties to treat the whole individual, and I am 59 years old. Subsequently, Dr. Spiegel pushed for an endoscopy, and it was discovered that I had an ulcer for which I was treated. From cardio work up, lab tests to chest xrays, Dr. Spiegel ensured that I was in top shape for surgery and made sure that I understood all aspects of the procedure and treatment.During my stay at the hospital, Dr. Spiegel, Alexis, Nicole, Dr. Arroyo, and Dr. Vo infused me with so much strength, support and kindness that I have no words to express my gratitude and appreciation. It's been one month since my surgery and I'm feeling good, healing very well and going back to work next week. Awesome doctor and wonderful staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Google  |  May 28, 2019

Dr. Spiegel is simply fantastic. I am so grateful to her and her whole staff (Alexis/Nicole/Lisa/Aidee/Angie) for the wonderful care and support given to me from my very first visit to their office. Dr. Spiegel is so thorough that during the course of my visits, she insisted that I consult a GI doctor for my distended stomach. Turns out that I had an H Pylori infection for which I had to be treated. No other doctors had ever looked past their specialties to treat the whole individual, and I am 59 years old. Subsequently, Dr. Spiegel pushed for an endoscopy, and it was discovered that I had an ulcer for which I was treated. From cardio work up, lab tests to chest xrays, Dr. Spiegel ensured that I was in top shape for surgery and made sure that I understood all aspects of the procedure and treatment. During my stay at the hospital, Dr. Spiegel, Alexis, Nicole, Dr. Arroyo, and Dr. Vo infused me with so much strength, support and kindness that I have no words to express my gratitude and appreciation. It's been one month since my surgery and I'm feeling good, healing very well and going back to work next week. Awesome doctor and wonderful staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 08, 2019

After being diagnosed with breast cancer only six weeks after giving birth, my life was turned upside down over night. I immediately started chemo therapy, and a few moths later I was researching reconstructive surgeons. Dr. Spiegel came highly recommended by my oncologist, and I'd later find out it was for very good reason. Not only was I welcomed very warmly by everyone in the office, Dr. Spiegel showed me such a great deal of compassion that it really helped to put my mind at ease for my upcoming surgery. It was very clear from the wealth of information on her website, her tutorial videos, and the personal attention from everyone in office - from her PA's, to the office manager to her billing specialist - that everyone there was working together, fighting together, for the absolute best experience and results for the patient. The whole process from start to finish took a holistic approach to treating the patient. I ended up getting the DIEP Flap reconstruction surgery, and I was very worried about the final results - not just the look of the breasts, but also the abdominal scar. Dr. Spiegel explained everything in great detail to me, assured me she was going to make it all look wonderful, and after just having finished the second surgery (the cosmetic phase), I am thrilled with how it all looks so far. I'm still healing, but I cannot believe how great it all already looks. Dr. Spiegel surpassed my expectations, which were already very high. She's given me back a body I'd thought I'd never have again. My breasts look like they did when I was 20, maybe even better. And while there's no getting around the fact that this type of surgery leaves a long abdominal scar, her work left a very clean, soft line. One that over time, I know will fade and blend nicely. She contoured my entire abdominal and thigh area, and used that tissue to reconstruct the breasts. It all looks incredible. She's truly an artist. I'd highly recommend her to anyone thinking about about getting this complex surgery done after a double mastectomy. Thank you Dr. Spiegel and all you amazing souls at her office. You all helped me tremendously through such a terrifying time in my life and shepherded me to the other side of it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 04, 2019

My journey began 21 years ago. After three other surgeons did what I can only assume was their best (with devastating results), and more reconstructive surgeries than I even remember (really!), I was referred to Dr. Spiegel by a friend/fellow survivor. It may sound dramatic to say Dr. Spiegel has changed my life, but it is a fact. Dr. Spiegel’s work made me feel whole again (and damned proud of how I look for the first time in 21 years!!). I cannot begin to express the impact, not just physically, but mentally. LIFE CHANGING! HOPEFUL! I pray that any woman that faces this challenge does herself (and her family... because they are on the journey with you) the favor of exploring what Dr. Spiegel can do. She truly cares about each patient, and in my book, she is an angel. Dr. Spiegel actually got excited when she could see how happy and excited I was about my results! Last, I cannot end without paying tribute to her team. You will not meet a more wonderful, caring group of human beings. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 14, 2018

I knew I was in good hands after my first visit with Dr. Spiegel. Her smile, her attentive staff, her medical explanations, and her sincere inquiry into my expectations and concerns all gave me confidence to choose her as my breast reconstruction surgeon. Now, I am a cancer survivor and a renewed female body survivor! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

I cannot say anything to describe how great and excellent a surgeon she is at the same time, the most compassionate! Going through breast cancer and having to deal with the issues that comes with it, she always gives you hope and something to look forward to. Her surgical skills are par excellent and I will not hesitate recommending her! You are in great hands and her staff is amazing! They respond immediately to concerns, questions and appointment! Definitely, a 5 star caliber surgeon! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

Just want to thank Dr Spiegel for her incredible work. She did my surgery when nobody else would. Saved my fingers More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

My journey began 21 years ago. After three other surgeons did what I can only assume was their best (with devastating results), and more reconstructive surgeries than I even remember (really!), I was referred to Dr. Spiegel by a friend/fellow survivor. It may sound dramatic to say Dr. Spiegel has changed my life, but it is a fact. Dr. Spiegel’s work made me feel whole again (and damned proud of how I look for the first time in 21 years!!). I cannot begin to express the impact, not just physically, but mentally. LIFE CHANGING! HOPEFUL! I pray that any woman that faces this challenge does herself (and her family... because they are on the journey with you) the favor of exploring what Dr. Spiegel can do. She truly cares about each patient, and in my book, she is an angel. Dr. Spiegel actually got excited when she could see how happy and excited I was about my results! Last, I cannot end without paying tribute to her team. You will not meet a more wonderful, caring group of human beings. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

I knew I was in good hands after my first visit with Dr. Spiegel. Her smile, her attentive staff, her medical explanations, and her sincere inquiry into my expectations and concerns all gave me confidence to choose her as my breast reconstruction surgeon. Now, I am a cancer survivor and a renewed female body survivor! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

The Staff at Dr. Aldona Spiegel's office is so wonderful! Even though the wait time can be lengthy at times it is worth it to work with such lovely people! They are always there to answer your questions and help you with medical and insurance questions! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2018

Dr Spiegel is by far my favorite Dr EVER!!! She is not only EXCELLENT at what she does as a DR, she is also one of the most compassionate human beings I have had the privilege to meet. She helped me to feel like me again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 30, 2018

Dr Spiegel and her staff are a top notch team. Always available via phone or email to answer questions regarding procedures,treatment, follow ups, and insurance. Dr Spiegel takes the time to listen to your concerns with empathy and a keen compassionate ear. The results have been incredible, and I am completely satisfied with the results. I would highly recommend this talented Doc and her staff for your reconstruction journey. Thanks for your dedication. Sincerely, SDM More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 17, 2017

Before you select a reconstruction doctor you owe it to yourself to visit Dr. Spiegel. She and her team are knowledgeable, professional and a caring. I had a double mastectomy with reconstruction and my experience and results are amazing! She's passionate, detailed, and the best. She was part of my God given "Dream Team!" More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2017

ABSOLUTE BEST DR Ever!!!!!!!! Dr Spiegel is amazing and so is ALL of her staff !! Not only does she do an amazing job, she really cares about her patient's. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 08, 2017

I cannot stress how amazing my reconstruction journey was, thanks to Dr. Spiegel and her team. She listened to my concerns and gave me all of the information that I needed to make an educated decision. I cannot imagine trusting anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 08, 2017

Dr. Spiegel is the epitome of a great surgeon. Skill, knowledge and bedside manner are her greatest qualities. My best friend recommended her to me when I was diagnosed in 2015. Everyone in Methodist that I went through from registration to blood work to X-ray were on cue when they saw Dr. Spiegel's name on the paperwork. I know that kind of respect is earned and because of that respect, I knew I was in the best hands. My surgery and recovery was flawless due to Dr Spiegel and her team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 08, 2017

As one of Dr. Spiegel's patients for over six years, I could not give her a higher level of praise. She is a wonderful surgeon and a warm and caring physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 08, 2017

If I were to define Dr Spiegel in (1) word it would be "PERFECTION." I had a prior breast reconstruction surgery with another physician that was flawed to say the least. I made an appoint w/Dr Spiegel hoping that she could help me-she is the BEST thing that could have happened. I let her do "her magic"-- my reconstruction results are nothing less than "spectacular." I could not be more pleased w/her dedicated office staff as well. Dr Spiegel is "A GEM"-her work and bedside manner both TOP NOTCH! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 11, 2016

When I first walked into Dr. Spiegel office I was nervous not knowing what to expect. Once I was called to a room I was treated like family and everyone was nothing but nice. Dr. Spiegel explained everything to me in detail and answered all my questions. I and now completed with my reconstruction and I feel and look amazing. Dr. Spiegel is someone I would refer anyone too she is the best in her field. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 28, 2016

I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer at 35 with no family history. A friend who is also a Breast Cancer survivor and medical professional recommended Dr. Spiegel and I am SO happy she did. I am 8 years out from my double Mastectomy and reconstruction. Her staff go above and beyond, including calling me on their vacation day to schedule my surgery sooner. I am Extremely pleased with the reconstruction process and results and would (and have) recommended to many friends and strangers. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2016

Though I already knew I would have delayed reconstruction, I first consulted with Dr. Spiegel following my initial dx of inflammatory breast cancer. Dr. Spiegel is very compassionate and I immediately felt I was in the best hands. I told my oncologist that I was consulting with her and he raved about her and called her an artist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2015

Aldona Spiegel is the VERY BEST BREAST RECONSTUCTION Specialist in Houston. I had a double mastectomy, due to her recommendation (even though I had 3 tumors on only 1 breast). Man, was I impressed. Heck, I went up one cup bigger than I was originally and my body looks better than when I went in. I have had bras made for me and the ladies who work to "fit me", say "Oh my gosh, WHO did you have do your surgery! I have never seen such a GREAT OUTCOME! I said, Really? What do you normally see? She says, "Butcher Jobs", Not symmetrical, etc. I will confess that I had to show my girlfriends who at my age, had saggy breasts by now whereby mine are perkier than my 21 year old daughter! I am VERY PLEASED with the results and HIGHLY RECOMMEND her to anyone in need of this type of surgery. You will NOT be disappointed. Go for it! More

5.0
Review from Test  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 02, 2014

What an amazing experience! The results were amazing on top loving to visit their office and staff. I highly recommend them to all my friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2014

Dr. Spiegel was so friendly, we were very pleased with the overall experience. The results of my procedure were incredible. I would highly recommend her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2014

This sounds crazy, but Dr. Spiegel and her staff made my breast reconstruction pleasant! She is caring first, but also professional and talented. I look better than I did before breast cancer. If you have faced breast cancer, do yourself a favor and call her office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2013

I trusted Dr. Spiegel to perform breast reconstruction on both of my breasts following chemo and radiation. I have NEVER regretted that decision for one moment. She is an amazing physician with skills that are second to none. After researching my reconstruction options (type of procedure), it was crystal clear that Dr. Spiegel offered me what I was looking for...DIEP. Ladies, do yourself a favor and do your research before you decide to compromise your abdominal muscles!! One last important comment- Dr. Spiegel is a perfectionist. You will not be disappointed with the end result! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2013

Dr. Spiegel and her staff made my wife feel like family. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.